Suds: December 10

Snow storm in Madison last night. That won’t stop me from delivering Suds to you. Why? Because you deserve it.

I may live in Madison, but I grew up in the City of Broad Shoulders. I’m going to honor the fine city with a winter brew from its biggest brewery (not to mention one of its finest). Grab a Goose Island Mild Winter and get ready for a snow covered edition of Suds.

-Speaking of Goose Island, they’re always pushing the barrel…er…envelope.

-I can’t lie, we here at the Midwest Beer Collective are completely biased towards Schlitz. Why? This ad. And the new-old formula.

-Anyone catch Brewmasters last night? I didn’t (it’s either internet or cable at my house, guess which one I opted for?), but here’s a clip from it.

-Does anyone remember when this happened? This sounds awful. I had just turned 21 and begin getting into beer culture, so many of the details are lost on me.

-Late on this one (it’s a trend, sorry), but check out this edition of NPR’s Science Friday talking about the science of smell. Really neat.

-More barrel-adged beers. Beer Here reviews the latest experiment in a barrel from Tyranena.

-I totally forgot about this competition! A Sconnie wins the title of Stella Artois Draught Master.

-Hey you! Yes you! Help these guys start a brewery. Interesting way to get started, but everyone has to start somewhere.

-More activism. Make sure the Michigan Summer Beer Festival stays in Ypsilanti!

-Of course we’re a beer blog, but what’s beer without cole slaw? I was at the farmer’s market last night and they were still selling carrots, so you have no excuse to not enjoy this for the holidays.

-Speaking of slaw, the best I ever had was here, in Colorado Springs. Phantom Canyon also brews a porter that would warm Zebulon Pike himself (the namesake of the beer). One of the best dining experiences I’ve ever had, although I slept in a cave the night before, so maybe it was just the contrast?

-CraftBeer.com does a nice feature on Surly Brewing Co.

-At home, you may be a tourist. But why would you be with resources like this? Hopefully more to come for where to drink in other cities.

-Not sure what to drink with that fruitcake your aunt left at your place for the holidays? I’m not either, but this guy knows.

Need more than just suds? Follow us on Twitter (@MidwestBeer) and on Facebook. If you have something on your mind, send it to us at mwbeercollective@gmail.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Suds

Share your thoughts on beer! (Just don't be a jerk)

