Thinking Outside the Bocks: Sushi

It’s that time of year again. When all that is on TV is awesome college basketball, soon leaf out will be here, and spring ephemerals will spice up afternoon bike rides. You know what goes well with all those things? Sprecher Mai Bock and Sushi, so let’s eat.

I inherited my love of Sprecher from my Father who would list their beer as some of his favorite. Every time we’d visit family in Milwaukee the brewery’s smokestack would inform me that we had arrived. This was the first time I had tried their Mai Bock, and it didn’t disappoint. In a word this beer is malty, though the beer is dry hopped I didn’t notice any overly strong bitterness. The dry hopping did give it a nice floral aroma though.

Admittedly I’m not a huge expert on sushi, though I do know what I like. I tend to stick to tuna and salmon with the occasional yellowtail roll thrown in. I also go light on the wasabi and heavy on the soy sauce when I eat sushi, and this is great to pair with the malty, bready bock.

This combination might be hard to achieve since most sushi places don’t carry Sprecher beer. Store bought sushi may work in a pinch, or if you have the means to make your own sushi more power to you, which would really be Thinking Outside the Bocks.

Hungry now? Follow us on Twitter (@midwestbeer) and Facebook, or shoot us an e-mail at mwbeercollective@gmail.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beer and Food

Share your thoughts on beer! (Just don't be a jerk)

