Thinking Outside the Bocks: Kuma’s Megadeath

Greetings Sudsians and welcome to this week’s TOtB. Craft Beer Week has taken Chicago by storm and I’m happy to say that I’ve caught the fever. This week’s pairing reflects my recent Chicago culinary excursion.  Now, some of you who have been around since the beginning of TOtB will be alarmed to note that I’m pairing beer and burgers again. Not only is this a no brainer of a pairing, but also repeating a pairing is absurd. However, regulars and first time patrons of Kuma’s Corner alike can attest to the experience that is feasting on a Kuma’s burger. Some might even look to current Chicago Bull’s forward/center Joakim Noah’s response after enjoying a Kuma’s ‘Megadeath’ burger.

All Joakim-ing aside, Megadeath is delicious. I’ve never had a burger where the patty (more like a 10 oz. slab) itself is secondary to the ingriedients that top it. Megadeath is topped with chorizo and red potato hash, pico de gallo, cayenne avocado cream, tortilla strips, and fresh cilantro. I chose Megadeath because I wanted something that would be spicy but not something that would be so spicy it wasn’t enjoyable. Upon tasting, I’d describe Megadeath as deceptively hot. The cayenne avocado cream brought on heat about a quarter into the burger, coupling that with the chorizo and red potato hash made me ready for some serious suds to quench the flames.

I enjoyed Megadeath with a Three Floyds Gumballhead, which was a solid pairing. However, to keep the Chicago Craft Beer Week theme going, I’d recommend trying a Two Brothers Resistance IPA. Part of their J series beers, Resistance is aged in Oak Foudres for at least four weeks. This past weekend Small Bar had a firkin of Resistance, and I must say it was firkin delicious. The oak flavoring was definitely evident, and complimented the citrus hoppyness of the IPA. Both of these flavors would help to take some of the sting out of the chorizo and cayenne.

It is my hope that you all may experience these great flavors in the near future. Kuma’s is definitely worth the wait, I recommend putting your name down and then going to play Frisbee, and enjoying this great weather we’ve been having.  Be sure to check back for more pairings as I explore Chicago one dish at a time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beer and Food

Share your thoughts on beer! (Just don't be a jerk)

