Suds: July 25th

Hey all. Sorry for not formally announcing the vacation. As Brian mentioned, I’m getting ready to move to Washington, D.C., but I will talk about this more at a later time. We took the vacation more out of necessity than anything. In many ways, I found a lot of the energy that I had been leaving out of the blog. Most notably, the intellectual discourse Brian and I envisioned when we put this whole thing together. I also began thinking about things that I had neglected in the past.

I know I act like a Wisconsinite, and in many ways I am, but I was born and raised in Illinois. So today, we’re celebrating the rich history of the Land of Lincoln. Yesterday, I spent the rainy afternoon in the Chicago History Museum (I’ve talked about Chicago’s environmental history before on this blog in the form of William Cronon’s meticulously researched book, Nature’s Metropolis: Chicago and the Great West, so when you’re done reading this post go check out that book from the library). Today I’m exploring Starved Rock, a place I’d only heard about as a kid.

Basically, I’m trying to make up to Illinois, a state that has only been too happy to play laboratory for me. So join me and raise a pint of Two Brother’s Dog Days, and let’s get to Suds.

-I know this, you know this, but let’s just make it official: Chicago is a great beer town.

-I can’t believe I haven’t thought of driving around Lake Michigan and trying all the beer nearby. way too cool. Biking would be cooler.

-More innovation like this please: Chicago Brewing Company prepares it’s home in an old meatpacking plant.

-Also, thanks to Piece Chicago and the Haymarket Pub for delicious food and beer. Good times were had by all, and if you’re looking for a good IPA, I would suggest both restaurants with a side of fish sandwich or hot pizza (respectively).

-New label from a WI favorite, Central Waters.

-Thunderstorm warning MN drinkers. Get to the Town Hall Pub immediately.

-What makes a good beer city? Definitely more than just good beer (namely, good people to drink beer with).

-Tough times at Lift Bridge Brewing, a personal favorite of ours here at MwBC. Continue to support them in any way possible!

Need more than just Suds? Follow us on Twitter (@midwestbeer), find us on Facebook or send an email to mwbeercollective@gmail.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Suds

Share your thoughts on beer! (Just don't be a jerk)

