Art of Beer Cooking: Rauchbier Marinated Pork Shoulder with Fried Egg and Roasted Beets

For today’s installment of Art of Beer Cooking, I’d like to try something a little different. Last Christmas, I bought a share at a CSA in Boyceville, Wisconsin called Eener Farms for my parents. Now, the vegetables are flowing in each week and my master plan to get my parents to branch out in their diets is coming up short. So, its fallen to me to get creative and hone my own culinary skill set.

Make sure you get the freshest beets for your dish

In this spirit, I’d like to offer up a sort of challenge, or perhaps a call to culinary action. With a package of kale and beets, I wanted to replicate a version of one of the most delicious dishes I’ve ever had from the Strip Club Meat and Fish in St. Paul: pork belly and fried egg on a bed of roasted beets. I don’t have a solid recipe to go off, so I have decided to create my own; but I also want to take it to the next step by asking you, our readers, to join in this endeavor and create your own twist on this recipe.

The main ingredients:

– Your favorite cut of pork (I’m using a beautifully marbled pork shoulder)

– Beets (straight from the farm or farmer’s market)

– Beer (I’m using a rauchbier)

– Egg

– Kale or another sort of green

– Your very own mix of herbs and spices

This is your mission if you choose to accept it. In one week we will reconvene and discuss our recipes.

Love beer? Love food? Tweet a photo of your favorite beer/food dish to us @midwestbeer.

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking

One response to “Art of Beer Cooking: Rauchbier Marinated Pork Shoulder with Fried Egg and Roasted Beets

Share your thoughts on beer! (Just don't be a jerk)

