Suds: August 29

After one year off and lots of random pseudo-intellectual pontificating, I return to school tomorrow. For me, I don’t really feel at home unless I spend most of my time in some sort of school. I like to learn, I do it often on my own, I just don’t get the same sense of accomplishment if I don’t hand in a fifteen page paper on the merits of post-impressist artwork and its affects on ecological research (call me crazy).

I’ve never felt conflicted about the purpose of school until I saw Annie Hall. Woody Allen is a hero of mine, an indirect mentor who made his way without ever finishing college, and he does not mince words when it comes to his feelings for higher education (he briefly attended NYU, but dropped out presumably because he found it “shallow and didactic”).

"I mean no disrespect whatsoever, but he's a dishonest, immoral louse."

Allen, like Will in Good Will Hunting, points out that higher education isn’t necessary to understand complex ideas like Marshall McLuhan’s “The medium is the message.” Allen’s characters famously bumble and stammer their ways through conversations with stuffy intellectuals, intent on providing a mirror for what intellectualism sounds like to Allen (he must never have read American Splendor, where he is often painted as the object of Harvey Pekar’s scorn for a lack of intellectualism).

Regardless, the Woody Allen is responsible for some of the best films of the modern age, from Annie Hall to Crimes and Misdemeanors and the unforgettably farcical Sleeper. He’s done them all, and for that, let’s raise a pint of Dysfunctionale from Piece Pizzeria in Chicago. On to Suds.

Rye malt syrup? Sounds like we will all be making some interesting extract beers in the near future…

-Our friends over at Lift Bridge Brewery get a pretty awesome Brewing TV episode.

-Oh my God, what have they done?!?!?!?!?! That poor Alpha King…

-The saying goes when you gazes into the abyss, the abyss gazes back. This also applies to beer bloggers and the beer they cover.

-A great look at Greenbush Brewing.

-Beer tasting and art fair? In Wisconsin? Sign me up!

-Finally, a half-year report card from the Brewers Association. Keep buying good beer!

Need more than just Suds? Follow us on Twitter (@midwestbeer), Facebook or send an email to mwbeercollective@gmail.com.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Suds

Share your thoughts on beer! (Just don't be a jerk)

