Suds: September 19

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh! There’s a new Sleeping in the Aviary record out! I don’t have too much to say about them that I haven’t already said throughout the history of this blog, Madison’s foremost goof-punk outfit has returned to satiate our desires for pop hooks, quirky content and heartbreaking sincerity. They really cover it all this time around—there’s even a very Sonic Youth-y, detached punk track, and it’s awesome—with enough ooo’s and aaaah’s to spare.

Fine, I miss Wisconsin. Grab a Two Women from New Glarus and let’s get to Suds.

-First, Brian and I would like to thank everyone over at the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation of Chicago for inviting us to their FestivAle event. Neither of us could make it, so we’ll be on the lookout for a good recap. Or maybe we won’t, because I don’t want to know what I missed. Drinking beer for a good cause sounds great to me, but don’t forget about the cause!

Great feature on 5 Rabbit in Chicago.

-Ever wanted to visit Boulevard Brewing without leaving your computer? Us too. More great work from our friend Michael over at Good Beer Hunting.

3 Floyds has been with us for fifteen glorious years. Here’s to at least fifteen more!

-I’ve been weighing the pros and cons of getting free beer for life from one provider. Interesting idea, and definitely the investment consideration. I really love beer, but I don’t know if that’s the route for me, just too specialized.

-This Tribune article is worth reading for the lede alone. You should read the article though too.

-Beer Here: Laughing Fox from New Glarus.

-Get ready for some barrels o’ deliciousness from Flossmoor Station.

-Finally, we are two weeks away from me watching hockey. I can’t believe I’ve survived. Game one on my agenda? The Chicago Blackhawks vs. the Washington Capitals at the Verizon Center in Washington, D.C. Let’s go Hawks.

Can’t wait for hockey? Neither can we! Kvetch all you want to us on Twitter (@midwestbeer), Facebook or send an email to mwbeercollective@gmail.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Suds

Share your thoughts on beer! (Just don't be a jerk)

