Suds: October 5

Consider this my artist statement, though I am no artist. I’ve decided to embrace the internet in all of its capacities, leave no stone unturned so to speak. The concept is simple: I’m going to try and take a photo every day and pair it with the text from something I’ve read throughout the day. You can follow this concept on Instagram, for however long it lasts. The idea came from my frustration with the office life, and the need to do something with all the journalism I consume while I’m supposed to be analyzing policy.

To get your creative juices flowing, check out this interview with Sol LeWitt (who has a sculpture in the National Gallery’s sculpture garden, where my first Instagram photo was taken). Grab yourself a brown ale from Bell’s and let’s get to Suds.

-I wish I could break this news first: Ale Asylum is expanding! 42,000 barrels? Yes please. Distribution in Chicago? Oh my, it couldn’t come soon enough.

-Nice interview of the brains behind Four Firkins from MNBeer.

-Beer Here: Riverwest Stein Beer from Lakefront Brewery.

-Not quite beer, but cider.

-Ah what the hell, here’s more on cider.

-More love for Michigan beers at GABF.

New Glarus and other GABF highlights on Serious Eats.

-Tap kegs for a good cause this Saturday at Loyola University. All proceeds benefit Helen C. Peirce Elementary.

-Finally, for DC beer drinkers and Midwest expats, New Glarus will be available for one night only at Meridian Pint. I will most definitely be there, so come say hi to the guy making a fool of himself by the jukebox when he can’t find the Smiths (assuming they have a jukebox).

Can’t wait for Ale Asylum expansion? Neither can we! Get any and all updates from us on Twitter (@midwestbeer), Facebook or send an email to mwbeercollective@gmail.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Share your thoughts on beer! (Just don't be a jerk)

