Brew for Thought: Sierra Nevada’s Celebration Ale

‘Tis the season for sharing, though you wouldn’t know it from where I’m sitting in our Nation’s Capitol. Today it was a balmy 65 with scattered rain showers, hardly the stuff one would expect ten days before Christmas. Last night I finally got to indulge in probably my favorite holiday tradition: Sierra Nevada’s Celebration Ale.

I mean, what more is there to say? Just look at that label! It’s everywhere that I want to be right now but can’t get to, and it shows in the beer as well. Sharp hop notes blend nicely with a big body, feeling light the weight of a heavy snowfall on top of a house.

I have to apologize for picking a beer from outside of the Midwest, but sometimes you just have to go with it. We drank Sierra Nevada as we drifted down the Kickapoo River, probably the most Wisconsin thing I’ve ever done, and it felt right. Celebration Ale feels right at home, no matter what the circumstances, especially because it’s different every year. I find myself sipping it and thinking, “oh boy, this will be great next year too.”

Best enjoyed: In front of an open fire. Perhaps with some chestnuts.

Best paired with: I’m currently using it to braise some pork. I also used it in chili. It’s probably delicious in anything and paired with really heavy food.

Find it: Everywhere.

Need more than just Suds? Follow us on Twitter (@midwestbeer), Facebook or send an email to mwbeercollective@gmail.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Features

Share your thoughts on beer! (Just don't be a jerk)

