Suds: December 23

It’s been pretty holiday-like since I got home, but alas no snow. Last night was full of good beers, good tunes and good friends. We stopped briefly at Piece, where they were hosting a Paws Chicago fundraiser (karaoke fundraiser, none the less). It reminded me that once you’re done getting gifts for everyone, try to find a worthwhile charity to give a little something to. I have an undying soft-spot in my heart for dogs, so I generally try to give to shelters. Or Wikipedia, just so I don’t feel guilty every time I use the service.

Yeah, yeah, I know that it’s not the most exciting Suds topic, but it’s a good thing to consider. The Tribune ran a front page story about where donation dollars go, so check it out and choose wisely. Grab an Alpha King and let’s get to Suds.

-Some big news in Minnesota: New beers at Barley John’s and Summit Unchained #9. Going to be a great holiday.

Bare Hands is open to the public!

-Apparently the world has ranked its favorite beers and Bell’s has come out near the top? I mean, I like Bell’s, but this seems like a grandiose designation worthy of some statistical criticism.

-So I clicked on one of my usual bookmarks and this came up. UP road trip anyone?

In defense of good taste, independent of rating systems.

-Some info straight from the source at Surly.

-Beer Here: Milk Stout from Lake Louie Brewing Company.

-Finally, the history of Christmas Beer.

Happy holidays from all of us here at MwBC! Keep in touch on Twitter (@midwestbeer), Facebook or send an email to mwbeercollective@gmail.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Suds

Share your thoughts on beer! (Just don't be a jerk)

