The Music Department: Friday Four Pack

I realized I have a hard time diversifying my playlists. I have this short musical memory driven purely by obsession [1], which makes collecting records a necessity. I dug around through my musical taste throughout the years to put these four songs together [2], tethered loosely by their psych-folk roots and how they explore that line between profound sadness and unrelenting goofiness. I can’t believe how hard it was to find studio recordings of some of these songs! Sorry if you have an issue with live recordings (I normally do, so I empathize).

In summary:

– “The Charm,” Maps & Atlases, Perch Patchwork

– “Gun Has No Trigger,” The Dirty Projectors, Swing Lo Magellan

– “Kids On Holiday,” Animal Collective, Sung Tongs

– “Jackass,” Beck, Odelay

[1] See Eno, Brian and the Talking Heads. The Weakerthans and Radiohead in high school. You know how it goes.

[2] Beck’s Odelay is a regular in my shade-tethered-CD-wallet for driving along with London Calling, Gang of Four’s Entertainment and this great Junior Senior dance mix a friend made me in high school (yes, I like hearing Prince, Jurassic 5 and the Rapture all on the same CD).

Need more than just tunes? Follow us on Twitter (@midwestbeer), Facebook or send an email to mwbeercollective@gmail.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Features

Share your thoughts on beer! (Just don't be a jerk)

