Suds: June 6

Good morning, Mr. Magpie! It should come as no surprise to anyone that we here at MwBC listen to a healthy amount of Radiohead (I own their entire discography, some of it on vinyl, not to mention the Thom Yorke singles and Record Store Day rarities. One day I’ll be able to cash in on all those points somewhere…).

Known for being twisted and dark, the Thomas Pynchon of the music world, lately Radiohead has shown they have somewhat of a lighter side. The last two records have seen them approach ideas like love in a much more direct and charming way. Where once Johnny Greenwood fed his songs distortion and chaos, he now uses smart string arrangements and analog warmth. Phil Selway’s rhythms are tighter, more heavily influenced by dub-step than Can. Thom Yorke smiles now. It’s a very different Radiohead, but the feel is very much the same.

To celebrate this, check out this Stereogum compilation of some Radiohead covers. My favorite is the Smiths cover, but I can’t get over the fact that there’s an Oasis cover on the list, no matter how tongue-in-cheek it is.

It’s Monday, so I definitely want some fresh beer. If you live in Madison or Wausau head to the Great Dane and grab a Devils Lake Red Lager, and let’s get to Suds.

Big Shoulders drinkers, you can find Zephyr, a collaboration beer from Lagunitas, Big Star and the Publican, starting today. Check out the label, proof that crafting a beer is an art unto itself. Beautiful.

A nice recap of Chicago Craft Beer Week (and only part 1!).

-Do you live in Minnesota and want to grow hops? Then go here on June 8.

Uncool Wisconsin. Seriously uncool.

New Belgium? I don’t care what. I’m there.

Clips of Faith. Seriously people. Clips of Faith.

-Interesting take on summer ales: Enjoy them while they last.

-Finally, you may not want to drink PBR after reading this. I don’t know if I can part with my Schlitz, but I may have to…

Need more than just Suds? Follow us on Twitter (@midwestbeer), Facebook or send us an email at mwbeercollective@gmail.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Suds

Share your thoughts on beer! (Just don't be a jerk)